Your members can view workouts, log results, interact with your gym community and manage their class reservations all in SugarWOD.
A Zen Planner integration with SugarWOD is required to take advantage of this feature.
If you are interested in learning more about the SugarWOD and Zen Planner integration, check out this article.
To activate this feature:
- In SugarWOD, go to the gear in the top left of navigation bar
- Click on Gym Integration Settings in the Zen Planner section (If you don't see this link, the integration has not been enabled yet. To learn more about activating this integration, visit this article)
- Go to the Settings tab
- Switch the Scheduling toggle to ON
- Your members should now see the scheduling icon in the bottom navigation of their app (may need to close and re-open the app)
What you and your members will see in the app:
*Note: Only athletes which are managed by Zen Planner (created through or synced) will have access to the scheduling feature in SugarWOD.
How to check who is/is not managed by the integration
If you are viewing your athlete roster in SugarWOD (under Athletes & Permissions) you’ll see the “Managed By” column will have a Zen Planner logo if the athlete is merged by the integration. This column will be empty if they are not managed by the integration.
How to re-sync to ensure all athletes are managed by the integration
In SugarWOD, click the gear icon (top left in top navigation bar) > Gym Integration Settings > Member Sync Setup > follow all steps to run/complete the sync. More information about running the member sync can be found here.
With SugarWOD scheduling, your members will be able to do the following:
Reserve a class (and cancel a reservation)
Check in for a class
Add to waitlist (and remove from waitlist)
Upgrade from waitlist
This video highlights the new scheduling functionality.
Note: All “rules” you’ve configured in Zen Planner will be honored in SugarWOD (ex: limits on reservation start/end time, waitlist upgrades, ability to check in for class, etc.)
To reserve a class:
From the Schedule tab in the Schedule view, tap on the "+" button on the class (use the calendar at the top to go to a future date) > confirm your reservation by selecting Reserve Spot.
Note: the "+" button will be disabled if the reservation window hasn't opened or if it has closed, and if all spots are taken, including waitlist spots. It will also be disabled if the member has any blocking alerts on their account, such as an unpaid bill or unsigned document. Blocking alerts will need to be resolved through the Zen Planner Member App.
To check in for a class:
When the check in window for a class is open, you will see a check in button in the class card for that reservation. This action can be taken from the Schedule or the Reservations tab.
To cancel a reservation:
Navigate to the Reservations tab at the top of the page, tap on the "+" button of the class you want to remove, Cancel Reservation. This can also be done on the schedule tab by scrolling to the class you reserved and taking the same action.
Reserve a class and check in
Note: these items below only apply if your gym has waitlist functionality turned on. If you do not have waitlist enabled and a class is full, the '+' icon will be disabled for that class and it will say FULL.
To add to a waitlist:
On the class card if the class is full and there are waitlist spots available, under the '+' icon you will see 'Waitlist'. Click the '+' to join the waitlist. You will be asked to confirm your spot on the waitlist. Once confirmed, that class will then appear in the Schedule and Reservations tab with a status of 'Waitlisted'.
To remove from a waitlist:
On the class card, click the checkmark. You will be asked to confirm removal of your spot on the waitlist. Once confirmed, the class will no longer appear on the Reservations tab.
Upgrading your spot from waitlist to reservation when a spot is available:
If your gym is using the automatic reservation feature, the member will not need to take any action, they'll automatically move up in class once a spot has opened. They will receive a notification in SugarWOD that they have been upgraded.
If your gym is using the confirm reservation feature, the member will need to confirm they are coming to secure their spot in class by clicking on the SugarWOD notification they receive or going to the Schedule tab once a spot has opened. If they don't respond in time, they will receive another notification notifying them that you've had to move on to the next person on the list.
*In order to view or change these settings go into ZenPlanner > Setup > Classes > Edit Universal Class Settings > Members > Under Custom Class Settings you'll see Automatic Reservation and Member Waitlist confirmation.
If any of your athletes see this message in their app when they visit the Scheduling tab, it means their Zen Planner account is not integrated with their SugarWOD account.
To check this visit the Security settings page, Athlete Access tab. The ‘Managed by’ column will show you which athletes are and are not integrated (if they are, there will be a small Zen Planner icon and if they are not the field will be blank).
If an athlete is not integrated, use the member sync tool to sync their account. After that is done they will be able to see the full schedule.
If they are still not able to see the schedule, make sure:
- The SugarWOD account they are logged into is the one that is managed in Zen Planner. The email addresses must be the same.
- If an athlete uses a different email address in Zen Planner than in SugarWOD, a duplicate account will be created for them in SugarWOD with the email that was used for Zen Planner.
Will my members still need to use Zen Planner?
Yes, while your members will be able to manage class reservations in SugarWOD they will still need to use Zen Planner for the following activities:
Billing (updates to payment method, viewing bills)
Signing documents (waivers)
Viewing attendance summary
Viewing class details (Coming soon to SugarWOD)
Can my members still use Zen Planner to reserve classes?
Yes, your members will be able to use SugarWOD or Zen Planner to reserve classes. All reservations will count toward the same class limit whether the reservation is made in SugarWOD or Zen Planner.
If I have Waitlist functionality disabled in Zen Planner will Waitlist be available in SugarWOD?
No, any settings you currently have configured in Zen Planner will be honored in SugarWOD.